top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureironfish2019

Week 8-9: Vacation & Recovery & PR!!!

My beach vacation couldn't of come at a better time. The week before vaca, I pulled my hip flexor (we think). Even though the jump to my 60 mile ride the week prior SEEMED like a great idea... it wasn't. I was training too hard, too fast.

So after a few visits to my dry needle expert before I left, heavy meds, a visit to a random Florida chiropractor, and beach rest....I'm almost back to ship shape.


How did I train on vacation, you ask?

I definitely didn't bike.

And my "swim" consisted of me floating in the ocean with a drink in hand.


Yep, I drank it!

I didn't run, since I was advised not to.

I did stretch and walk a lot. Dry sand walking is a good workout!


I did feel good enough towards the end of vaca to throw in some squats, lunges, and push-ups. Funny though... I haven't done any in weeks, so I was more sore than ever!!

That was the ass kicking I needed to remind me that I need to do strength work. Trying to avoid those injuries again.

I accounted in my training program for having last week off, so it works out perfectly.

I'll start back this week on training-program-track with a "recovery week".

Again, great timing!


Below are a few of my favorite pictures from the beach!


****Side Note: Norton and IRONMAN are planning to start their PR (public relations, NOT personal best) pieces on my journey!

And IRONMAN wanted an intro video on what I am doing and why (because I'm crazy?): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EgowziorAC8&feature=youtu.be




I'm feeling very special :)

Hope I don't screw this up!






64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page