top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureironfish2019

POST RACE SUMMARY; FINAL WORDS!

To the best of my memory, here's how things went...

The swim was cancelled. Total bummer. I immediately felt like I would not be a true IRONMAN. And I immediately started researching any remaining full distance triathlons I could do this year. Why waste all of my training?!

Then I came to my senses.

Me and a couple friends set up a time Saturday afternoon to get OUR swim done in Taylorsville Lake. We needed to know if we could do it. Jason rounded up some kayak support. And Scott blew me and Jason out of the water with his fast skills.

Overall, we had a good time (both mentally and on our watches)!

After this swim was done, I had a baseball-sized cramp in my calf and was shivering so bad that I could barely speak.

What if that happened during the race? Could I have finished the swim? Could I get on the bike, freezing and shivering, in 45 degree weather?

It was a good experience to have, but I think my bike time would have suffered.

Saturday night was a relaxing night with some pizza and hydration. Not much sleep, however. I got maybe 6 hours, but I fully expected to lack sleep.

With no swim, we got to sleep in though!

Sunday morning, I wasn't nervous.

Taking the swim out of the equation really calmed me down. I simply just showed up with all of my bike gear on, hung out in the heated medical tent (perks courtesy of Norton!), and then jumped on my bike at 9:02am.

It was chilly, and I got made fun of for wearing a XXL sweatshirt to start on the bike.

I don't like being cold! Excuse me for not having a $300 bike jacket.

I was able to shed the sweatshirt and extra gloves at Oldham County High School, which stopped me for maybe 1 minute.

The bike was great and I kept the exact pace I wanted!

With the exception of the quick stop to shed clothing, I only truly stopped at Bike Special Needs @ Mile 60. I had to pee and switch out liquids, then I was on my way! My hydration and nutrition was on point.

If I never eat another Uncrustable again, it will be too soon.

Believe me, I WANTED to stop so much more because my butt was SCREAMING.

But I powered through and just kept telling myself that even super slow forward progress was faster than stopping.

During the bike ride, I officially figured out that this sport is full of douche bags.

Close passing.

Aero helmets.

Littering.

Yelling at volunteers.

Loud disc wheels.

I was so happy to get off my bike that I told my bike catcher that they could sell it. I didn't want to see it anymore! Ha!

My transition was speedy, and I stopped for an official Norton photo before I took off on the run!

The first few miles felt good. I was keeping the pace I wanted and just kept telling myself, this is a marathon... not a 10k... slow is good.

I turned the corner on Lap 1 on Mellwood, and saw Dan from my run club. He was chatting me up a bit, and then I saw them...

My Derby City Run Club FAMILY!!

So many of them were there, cheering, yelling, drinking, and having so much fun!

Seeing them on ALL THREE LAPS of the run was so exciting, and so very much needed. I shed a tear and never smiled so much!

Then I knew it was time to get to work.

I am amazed at how many people I saw along the run route. Everyone yelling my name and holding signs and cheering me on. Some folks actually knew me, and some didn't!

I saw signs on the bike and run specifically just for me!

It really made my day!

Here are a couple of signs that I enjoyed :)

I was pacing very well until about Mile 14-15 when we stopped for Run Special Needs. I had to grab a jacket, headlight, and more snacks.

It slowed me down significantly.

I got cold and stiff in the hips. I occasionally found myself jogging only as fast the person next to me who was walking. I kept asking myself, what's the point?

And then I would walk.

It killed me to have a 6 hour marathon time.

The 3rd run lap was a dark place with lots of chicken broth!

The Lap Volunteers allowed me through towards the finish and then it hit me... I'm going to do this! Holy Shit!

I forgot about the swim being cancelled.

I forgot about my pain.

I forgot about needing to pee for the entire marathon.

I forgot about my nausea.

"Stephanie Fish, YOU ARE AN IRONMAN!!!"

Video Proof Here: (You gotta watch it!!! Forward to 14:11)

That was a good day for me.

Do I want to do another one? I don't WANT to, but I HAVE to.

I'm already planning my next adventures, as I sit here with my swollen feet and stiff muscles.

Gotta try for that entire 140.6!

Maybe next year :)

Am I going to get the tattoo? Yes.

I'm going to put a little creative spin on it to account for the lack of swim/algae issue.

It's all about the story. And it will have a story, with a good ending.

I did a few TV interviews the week before the race. The links are below, if you would like to view:

For now, I'm signing off from this blog! I hope you enjoyed reading and following along with me on this incredible journey!

Special thanks to Norton Sports Health, IRONMAN Staff, my friends and family, all the volunteers, and everyone!

Much Love! Peace Out!

117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page