top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureironfish2019

Week 20: Fit Fast vs Fat Fast + before & after photos!

Warning: unimpressive bikini photos & and controversial opinions are in this post!!


I took a photo of myself on the 1st day of training, and again today to see if there were any visible changes in my body.

Nope!

Seriously?!?!?!!?



All that work, and I only notice that MAYBE my arms look more tone from all that damn swimming. And it looks like my legs got a bit thinner.

All that cardio burned up my muscles!


It got me thinking.... maybe this race really is 90% mental!

Knowing all those little tricks during the race, what nutrition to use, how to tell yourself not to give up.... that's what this race boils down to.


Have you ever watched some of the folks cross that IRONMAN finish line?

Some might surprise you.


I might look like the "typical" triathlete just because I'm lean.

But more often than not, someone that has 50 pounds on me will fly by me on the swim and bike.

Fat floats.

And there seems to be a gravity advantage on the bike for someone who is 5'5" and 200lbs.


I have been eating like total crap, trying to keep some fat on my body, with the hopes that I could gain this advantage. Ha!

Wishful thinking, but I have enjoyed my pizza and chicken fingers for 4 months. {See prior post on Eating Habits}.


This leads me to Fit Fast vs Fat Fast.

The pros that do it in 8 hours are obviously Fit Fast. They might have 2% body fat on their body, but they kill that race!

Then there's the Fat Fast people that still manage to roll in at 12 hours.


I fully expect to take 15-16 hours.


The main advantage I have is that I can run for hours and hours.

That's the body type that I have.

Endurance is the game I play.

Pacing is the game I understand.


Those Fat Fast people that fly by me in the swim and bike.... well, unfortunately they struggle a bit on the run.

Long distance running seems to be a thin person's game.


For now, I'm keeping about 5 extra pounds on me to help me with that "float"... to help me with that "bike gravity"... to help me with that nutritional storage that my body will need about mile 127 of this race.


Thoughts? Comments?

Let's here them!


24 dayzzzzzzzzz!!!!!



65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page