top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureironfish2019

Week 19: Mental vs Physical Toughness. And a Century Ride!

As if I didn't already know, this is more mental than physical. I mean, I know you can't come off the couch and do an IRONMAN. But being able to tell yourself "you can do it!" for 16 hours seems a little insane. I'm a positive person, but seriously?

The grumpiness that I have felt these last few weeks have been crazy. I'm tired of doing these workouts. I grimace at my bike every time I walk by it, like I'm holding a grudge. I throw my running shoes in the closet like they cut me. And don't even ASK how I feel about swimming right now. People were annoying me, and I was tired of hearing everyone's "tips".


I needed SOMETHING to break the grump.


I found it.... I finally did a century ride. It was in my plan to ride 100 miles at least once.

So I signed up for the Limestone Tour in Maysville, KY.

This ride had a lot of elevation, and even though I started with my friends, I ended up doing the last 60 miles by myself.

It was a good practice for IM.

I just kept singing that song 'All By Myself' the whole way.



I finished! And I actually felt great! I paced myself properly where I felt like I could run a marathon afterwards!

Yaaaaaaasssssss!!



When I really think about it, I am physically ready. How can I not be after MONTHS of training??


It's the mental side. How do I stay positive during the race? When it feels like my body can't go any further, what do I tell myself?

When everyone is passing me during the race, what do I think?


I'm not a competitive person at all, and I don't have an ego of any sort.

I know people are so much faster and better at this than me.

Hence, 'The AVERAGE Ironman'.


I'm a very analytical person, so I like to break each thing down and keep myself calm, while setting goals. Here is what I expect to tell myself throughout the day:


Swim:

"I really only have to swim like, 1200m, then it's all down stream!"

"Bubble, bubble, breath"


Transition:

"It's okay to be totally naked right now"

"This bike ride is going to be fun!"


Bike:

"I just have to make it to the school."

"I just have to make it through this first loop, then I get more snacks."

"I just have one more loop without those shitty hills back to the school!"

"It's ok to throw up"

"Let's just get to River Road and take a quick break before the finish!"


Transition:

"It's ok to throw up"


Run:

"I'm just gonna go for an easy 26 miles... like a walk in the park."

"Now I get to see friends and family!"

"I'm so happy to be off that fucking bike!"

"Running is my THANG!"

"It's ok to throw up."

"This is the last part! Yay!!"


Finish:

"It's ok to throw up"

"I get a beer! Yay!"



What do you tell yourself during a long race?


Here was last week's training. It was a goodie!




61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page