top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureironfish2019

Week 18: Can't. Stop. Eating. Also, fasting thoughts...

Pizza, yes. Donuts, yes. Cheese, yes. Chips, yes. Cookies, yes.

I have always eaten healthy, but this training has turned me into an eating machine!

Salads and fruit have always been my go-to. But there is nothing like a box combo from Rasin' Canes after a 5 hour bike ride or a 3 hour run!

Something I have noticed though is breakfast before a morning workout doesn't work for me.

I am a coffee girl, then hit the road.

I know there is a lot of info on fasting before a long workout day. Or running on minimal fuel during a training day to help your body get used to lack of nutrition for an upcoming endurance event.

My body tends to react very positively to this.

If I eat 3 eggs and some toast, then go for a swim.... I feel awful. And can't stop burping under water.

If I try to go for a run after lunch, I almost puke. (See notes from last week's 3 hour run below).

I feel better if I start my workout on a coffee stomach with some Gatorade, than with food. Then maybe 30 minutes to an hour in, I'll eat a snack.

I really struggle to shove down a breakfast at 5am before a race. Nerves won't allow it. So I'm a tad concerned on how to approach IRONMAN morning.

Anyone else do a fasting of sorts?

Or have an issue with eating before a race?

I also value sleep more than anything, so getting up at 3am to try and make myself hungry before a race is NOT gonna happen.


Here is my typical race morning if it starts at 7am:

5am Wake up.

5:02am Coffee! Gatorade to follow.

5:20am Maybe a bite of a cookie or PB.

5:30am Try to poop.

5:45am Leave.

6am Arrive and set up transition.

6:20am Nervous diarrhea

6:30-race More Gatorade. Maybe try some fruit snacks.


I tend to eat something of substance right when I get on the bike. Typically an Uncrustable.

That is basically my breakfast. I'm actually hungry at that point.

It works and I dont have burps during my swim. However I worry a bit about not having enough to get me through a 2 hour swim for IM.


Thoughts?


Here was last week's training. The long run was bad, but I'm happy to say that it really was my first truly bad training day. The long bike on Saturday was my longest bike ever! I was definitely hurting around the hips and butt. Funny that the short run/walk afterwards actually felt good!

Working on another long week this week!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page