top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureironfish2019

Week 17: Question~How much butt padding do you wear on the bike?

A quick video update below (hint: training sucks) and some butt questions in this blog!

The bike portion of this race is gonna kill me. I struggle to sit my bony ass on a seat the size of a burrito for 7 hours.


So I've been trying out different padding options:

1. Light tri kit padding only.

2. Slightly heavier padding in a different pair of tri shorts.

3. Heavy duty bike rider padded shorts. (not recommended for swimming)

4. Both light padded shorts & heavy duty shorts together.


I'm struggling to find the right choice... the right fit.... the comfort zone.

My thought for IMLOU was to wear the tri kit shorts for the swim, put the heavy padded shorts on for the bike over top, then strip the heavy duty to be ready to run in the tri shorts only.


What is my risk of "crotch rot" by not changing my shorts after the bike?


Would a change to running shorts be a better option?

A fellow Landshark said she was going to just swim in her heavy duty bike shorts under her wet suit. Then completely change for the run to "feel human for maybe 20 seconds".

Sounds like a good plan....

I like the thought of dryness for a minute.

I know a lot of people don't change a single item of clothing the entire race.

But how did that feel 12 hours in?

Keep in mind that I'll be wearing this shit for like, 24 hours.


Suggestions from the Peanut Gallery and/or Ole Pros?


As far this past week, here is a video that sums stuff up.


https://youtu.be/v5qyR0FjwlA


Hope everyone is having a great week!

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page