top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureironfish2019

Week 12: Coach, or no Coach?

I dont have a coach for IRONMAN. I didn't want one. Even a 16.5 hour finish is a PR for me and I'm good with that. My schedule is semi-flexible where I can fit in my training without someone telling me to do it. I also have very good time management and scheduling skills.

See my weekly planner?

And this is a non-super-busy week!

My nutrition and hydration is good, as I understand the power of carbs and protein and water.

And I work in a department with ortho docs, physical therapists, and trainers! Most of my injury questions can be answered in a text. And most of the time the simple answer is REST.

I feel like those who got a coach needed one for those reasons: wanting a PR, having a busy schedule, and fear of injury.

I've seen some people with coaches doing CRAZY things though. Is it too much? Looks like it to me.

I'm not trying to be an IRONMAN pro.

I've also seen some people with coaches just learning all the tricks to this race, such as nutrition, transitioning, and pacing.

Guess what?

I can ask my IRONMAN finisher friends that info for free.

I have nothing against coaching, of course. If you found yourself a great coach, or are a coach yourself, AWESOME!

I'm a coach, at all different levels, so I get it.

I understand the power of coaching!

But I'm also a self motivator, training schedule fanatic, and realistic racer. Do I think I could benefit from a coach?

Sure!

Do I think they would annoy the shit out me?

Yes!

I've been coached a bit in swimming. But mostly I just ask my friends from Derby City Run Club, Louisville Landsharks, and other IRONMAN regulars their experiences. I take everything with a grain of salt, and see what works for me.

I'm kinda smart.

I can figure it out.

And if i don't finish this race, maybe I'll look into a coach for next time.

But for now, I'll save my money :)


Here was last week's run-focused training week...

I did end up making up the long run on Monday, after a 30 mile bike, so it was a BIG day. The good news is that it felt good.


I'm currently in the midst of a bike-focused week, and will post my progress next blog entry!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page