top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureironfish2019

Week 11: Overtraining and Undertraining

I have no medical background, but I do have some common sense. This blog is fully my own thoughts, but maybe take them with a grain of salt for your own training.


IRONMAN is not for the 'Couch to Whatever' folks.

You will get injured.

Guaranteed.

It really annoys me when people sign up for an endurance event of any sort, and they think their 3xweek 30-minute weightlifting classes will get them through it.

Wrong.

You are strong, no doubt. But the cardio/endurance aspect isn't there.

You will hate life during this race.

Guaranteed.


Or the folks who under train and half-ass their training program, and wonder why they feel like shit during the race.

You will wreck your body.

Guaranteed.


Why sign up for IRONMAN (and pay a LOT of money) if you aren't going to be all in?

On the other hand, OVER TRAINING is also a thing.

You will get injured.

Guaranteed.


IRONMAN doesn't have to be balls-to-the-wall training every single day.

Do you want to still be racing when you are 60 years old?

Maybe chill out a bit.


I decided not to sign up for a bunch of half Iron races this summer.

It is just added stress for me.

Money. Time. Travel.

Although, it would of been nice to get a 70.3, it just didn't work with my schedule this year. And I'm okay with that.

I'll do some local races, swim the Ohio, bike the course, and run in the heat....

ON MY OWN TIME.


If your training program calls for a rest day, take it!

Rest and sleep is probably more important that anything else when training.


If you are feeling super tired and just can't manage to get in that "easy run" your program calls for?

Try a yoga class!


Your legs can't muster a bike ride today?

Maybe hit the gym and try a nice leg/hip workout or jump on the stair climber.

I teach yoga 4x's a week, so it keeps me balanced and less injury prone.

Your body will benefit from some cross training sessions here and there. I wouldn't go as far to say that you should skip your swims/bikes/runs every week, but you have to stay in tune to your body and mind.


Maybe you haven't ran a marathon or even done a triathlon.

That's fine, as long as you are in generally good shape AND can handle an endurance event.


I am always AMAZED at some of the people that cross the IRONMAN finish line.

And yes, that is me judging people by their body type.

When super thick, or super thin people scamper across the finish, and look like they don't have an ounce of muscle on their body.... I continue to repeat to myself...

You.

Can.

Do.

This.


Yes, I'm comparing myself to the "atypical IRONMAN" finisher. This also goes for age.

(I'll cover age groups in another blog).


People are surprising. And amazing.

I want to be one of those people.

I want someone to call me amazing.

I want the IM announcer to say...

"Stephanie Fish! YOU. ARE. AN. IRONMAN!"

And I'll fall down, cry, and throw up.


Looking forward to it :)

Speaking of training, here is last week's workout summary:


Feeling good on the swim this week!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page