top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureironfish2019

Week 10: Alcohol & Training

Updated: Jul 14, 2019

I like beer, no doubt. Not cheap beer, but GOOD IPAs. I also enjoy some wine. However, further research has me convinced that I need to take it down a notch as my training gears up.

Bummer.

I've researched a few articles, and they all say the same thing- dehydration.

Yea, I get that.

So my 3+ glasses of wine and beer drinking has to be limited to POST heavy workout days.

I do think that ONE glass of beer or wine at the end of the day helps me chill. It is my reward for a great workout, as well as maybe some pizza or chocolate!

My 3xweek run club meets at breweries, so it is tough to pass up.

Especially since I got the Against the Grain tattoo on my shoulder which gets me a free beer EVERY DAY!!! (See included photo).

Limitation is the key here.

Anyone else have these issues?

I found this questionnaire article helpful, as it actually quotes IM champs.

It also says that a post-race beer is good for you, since it has those immediate carbs you need!

Yay! I knew I was doing it right!

This article is good too, however not as optimistic.

As I read that article, I was reminded of when I did IM-Augusta 70.3 last summer....

John and I walked around most of the afternoon the day before, and we tried several local beers through the day. Albeit, I drank plenty of water, it was not a good idea.

My "alcoholic side" came out about 6pm and said,

"I'll just switch to Mic Ultra. It's basically water."

I was rockin' and rollin' through Augusta the next day, swim and bike were amazing.

By the time the run started, it had to be about 150 degrees with 1000% humidity.

I cramped.

Cramped badly.

So much so that I fell, had to have assistance to get back up, drank some RANDOM person's Gatorade, and had to walk most of the rest of the run portion.

I was pissed, especially since I was en route to complete IM-Aug in under 7 hours. (A PR for me).

Was it the beers the day before? Was I just not hydrating enough before the swim and on the bike?

I'll never know.

But I also know that I won't drink the day before IMLOU..... probably not even the week before.

While my beers will be taken down to a minimum over the next few months,

it will be hard, but it's part of the job! :)

Thanks for reading! Comment with your stories of cramps/dehydration/alcohol!

Here is this past weeks training. It was a recovery week and working thru my hip issues, so nothing too extreme or exciting.

I'm still dealing with the hip pain this week, but I'm currently in a heavy swim week. I just need to buck up and go to a doctor.

You would think that someone who works in healthcare would go to the doc, right?

Nope.

Stay tuned to next week when I talk about over and under training!

130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page